Available 24/7 Free Consultation

Don’t Bring Recreational Marijuana from Michigan to Ohio

Request Your Free Consultation
Don’t Bring Recreational Marijuana from Michigan to Ohio

On December 2, 2019, the sale of recreational cannabis began in Michigan, becoming the first state in the Midwest to allow such sales. For now, recreational pot products are available largely in Ann Arbor, although more retailers will be given licenses over time. Anyone who is at least 21 years of age can purchase and possess cannabis in Michigan. Additionally, you don’t have to be a Michigan resident to buy recreational marijuana, as long as you have a valid license.

Don’t Bring Recreational Marijuana from Michigan to Ohio

That is why many Ohioans are planning to travel North to their neighbor state to enjoy recreational bud – however, the Ohio State Highway Patrol (OSHP) warns these individuals that taking home recreational marijuana can lead to state and/or federal criminal charges:

  • Since cannabis is still illegal on the federal level, transporting any pot products across state lines is against the law. Furthermore, possessing less than 100 grams of marijuana in Ohio is a minor misdemeanor, punishable by a citation and fine worth up to $150.
  • If you’re caught possessing a 100 grams you could face either a misdemeanor or felony charge depending on the exact amount on your person which can lead to incarceration. Law enforcement officials could also believe that this amount is not meant for personal use which could increase the charges to trafficking, selling, or possessing with intent to sell.
  • Additionally, beginning January 1, 2020, Illinois also legalized recreational marijuana which could lead to the same charges.
  • Lastly, driving under the influence of cannabis can lead to a DUI charge. A first-time drugged driving offense carries the same penalties as a DUI/OVI charge involving alcohol, which is punishable by a jail sentence of up to six months, a fine worth more than $1,000, and driver’s license suspension for up to three years. Reach out to a criminal defense lawyer.

If you have been charged with a drug crime in Ohio, contact Patituce & Associates today at (440) 471-7784 and request a free consultation to discuss your case.