Aggravated Circumstances DUI in Ohio
A DUI/OVI conviction in Ohio can lead to harsh penalties. For example, a first-time offense is a first-degree misdemeanor that is punishable by a maximum six-month jail sentence (with a minimum of three days), fines of up to $1,075, and license suspension for up to three years.
However, there are several aggravating factors can increase the severity of penalties drunk driving suspects face.
High BAC DUI in Ohio
If your blood alcohol content (BAC) was at least .17 percent after a DUI arrest, you will face enhanced penalties, such as a mandatory minimum jail sentence of three days.
Child Endangerment Punishment in Ohio
Child endangerment occurs when there is a passenger who is under 18 years old in the vehicle at the time of the DUI arrest. Ohio courts can enhance a DUI sentence if child endangerment is a factor.
Driving Under Suspension in Ohio Penalty
Many people continue to drive with a suspended license to commute to work, make important appointments, attend classes, and run household errands. If you are arrested for a DUI while driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license, you could either face enhanced DUI penalties or be charged separately for driving with a suspended license.
Vehicular Assault Ohio
If you seriously injure another person while drunk driving in Ohio, you could be charged with aggravated vehicular assault, which is a third-degree felony that carries a prison sentence of up to five years, a maximum $10,000 fine, and license suspension for the rest of your life.
Aggravated Vehicular Homicide Ohio Sentence
If you kill another person while drunk driving in Ohio, you could be charged with aggravated vehicular homicide, which is a second-degree felony, punishable by a prison sentence of up to eight years, fines of up to $15,000, and license suspension for life.
If you have been arrested for an aggravated DUI in Cleveland, contact Patituce & Associates at (440) 471-7784 today and schedule a free case review.